Skip to content

Banana Nut Bread

February 9, 2011

 

Mini Banana Loaves

Mini Banana Loaves

Writing a post a day can sometimes be a challenge.  There are some days when I know that I am not at my best and you can tell by the writing.  There are days when I can write and write and others when not a single sentence can be formed in my mind.  I used to write everyday in a journal.  It was a way of documenting personal grow, lessons learned and what direction to take in the future.  I would sit down in the fall and read over all of my daily entries and take stalk on the years past events.  I would then try to analyze why I choose to do things the way I did at the time in order to learn and better prepare for the future if I was ever faced with the same problem again.  For the most part I did pretty well at not making the same mistake twice but there are mistakes and then there are habits.  Trying to consciously change a habit is difficult.  I have heard that it takes 7 days to start a habit and 30 days to break it.

The reason I am attempting to write a post a day is to not only start a new habit but to break old ones.  My goal is to look back at my entries over the year and be able to take stalk of what I have done, what I want to do and where I want to go.  It is my way of getting back in to an old routine that really helped me focus on my weakness and praise myself for my strengths.  If you have been over thinking where to start with your post a day, just start.  Stop thinking about it.  Make it your routine.  When you wake up in the morning have a cup of coffee, turn on your computer and write.  Write about what you hope to accomplish in the day, the week, the month and the year.  Write about how you may achieve your accomplishments.  Write about your children or your dog.  Most importantly write about things that matter to you because if they matter to you then it will be easier to write about.  Do it for yourself!  Always remember the three T’s…Things, Take, Time.

Now, about that banana nut bread. It is the best quick bread there is and probably most popular.  If you do not want to make large loaves you can make mini ones.  You could also turn the batter into muffins and if you do not want large regular size muffins than mini ones are a great foot in.  If you do decide to make the mini versions though let me forewarn you they go FAST!  I don’t know why they go so quickly but they disappears a lot faster than their larger friends.  I think it may have something to do with the fact that they are easier to transport out of the kitchen with out being noticed.  Or perhaps it is because they are easier to consume right in the kitchen as you can simply pop them in your mouth!  Whatever the case may be they do not last long.  This is a great recipe to keep on hand as it never fails, it is great if you have a couple of bananas that need to be used and you can use it year round.

Ingredients and Directions for Mini Banana Loaves

Ingredients and Directions for Banana Loaves

Ingredients and Directions for Banana Loaves

1.  Ingredients for Banana Loaves

3/4 cup chopped walnuts

1 3/4 cup flour

3/4 cups sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

3 eggs, lightly beaten

1/2 cup melted butter

4 ripe bananas, mashed

To prepare:

Preheat oven to 350 F.  Spray or butter 4 mini loaf pans or 1 regular size loaf pans and set aside.

2. Combine all of the dry ingredients and nuts into a bowl and stir.  In a separate bowl mix together the eggs, bananas, melted butter and vanilla; stir to thoroughly combine.

3. Mix together the dry ingredients with the wet and stir until just combined.  Do not over mix as it will cause the loaves to have a denser consistency.

4. Pour the prepared batter into the prepared loaf pans until about 2/3 full.

Bake for 20-30 minutes if making mini loaves or 45-55 minutes if making a regular size loaf.  To ensure the loaves are cooked, insert a toothpick and when it comes out clean they are done.  Remove the loaves from the oven and allow to cool on a wire rack.

 

Mini Banana Loaves

Mini Banana Loaves

This is a great beginner recipe.  If you have a little one who wants to learn more about baking and cooking this is a great place to start.  It will surely build confidence in not time flat. These loaves will store well in the freezer if they make it there 🙂

From our kitchen to yours,

Sydney Jones

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2011 10:20 pm

    I adore banana bread and banana muffins. Just can’t go wrong when there’s bananas in it. A good looking recipe that I need to try. I admire your consistency to write everyday. It can be a challenge, but a rewarding one.

  2. February 10, 2011 1:40 am

    this is an all time fave. and such a palate soother…thank you for sharing.

    • February 10, 2011 5:29 am

      It really is a tried and tested recipe by everyone. I love making them small though they seem to take on a different taste.

Leave a Reply

