Skip to content

Roast Chicken and Vegetables

February 10, 2011

Roast Chicken with Vegetables

Roast Chicken with Vegetables

From when I was a wee girl I have always loved roast chicken.  It is a wonderful meal anytime of year.  I remember one time when I was younger my mom was making a roast chicken with mashed potatoes.  She had placed the chicken on the table and was just finishing up mashing the potatoes in the kitchen.  I grabbed the chicken off the table and hid underneath the table and ate the chicken.  My mom came out after it was nearly all gone and just stood there saying “the whole thing” over and over again.  Did I mention I love roast chicken 🙂  I was 5 years old I think, fairly young but completely able to devour a whole chicken on my own!  My poor mother, I’m not sure what they had for dinner that night buy my chicken was delicious!

Ingredients and Directions for the Roast Chicken

Ingredients and Directions for the Roast Chicken

1.  Ingredients for the Roast Chicken

1 tablespoon butter

1 teaspoon paprika

1 teaspoon each of salt and pepper

1 clove of garlic, minced

1 teaspoon of thyme

To prepare:

2. Rinse and pat dry the chicken

3. Rub the chicken with the butter and then rub all of the herbs and garlic over the chicken. Preheat oven to 300F.

For the Vegetables:

1 medium onion, chopped

10 baby potatoes, washed and cut into halves

3 carrots, roughly chopped

3 stalks of celery, chopped

To prepare:

4. Add all of the vegetables to the baking dish add 1 cup of water and then place in the oven to roast until the chicken is fully cooked about 3 hours or until the juices run clear.  Baste the chicken occasionally during the cook time so that it will not dry out.

Roast Chicken and Vegetables

Roast Chicken and Vegetables

There you have it a meal fit for a King or Queen, sitting at the table or under it 😉  Roast chickens are great for any occasion or day of the week.

From our kitchen to yours,

Sydney Jones

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

