Skip to content

Dulce de Leche Cupcakes

April 12, 2011

Dulce de Leche Cupcakes
Dulce de Leche Cupcakes

I have to tell you something.  I have to tell you a secret.  I am addicted to cupcakes.  It started as an innocent flirtation with a basic cupcake recipe, now it is all that I think about.  I am constantly wanting to make cupcakes.  I want to decorate cupcakes in so many different ways.  I want to eat cupcakes that are decorated and look so pretty.  It is becoming a problem.  I may need your help.  May I send you some cupcakes?  I can not keep doing it for myself.  Not only am I addicted, I am being selfish.

Okay, so now that I have that off my chest, let me tell you about these scrumptious cupcakes.  Dulce de Leche is a thick caramel-like milk based sauce or spread.  Have you ever tried it?  Oh.  My.  Goodness.  It is yummy!  These cupcakes are so amazing with the Dulce de leche frosting, you really have to try them.  I used some pretty pink flower cupcake liners that I picked up at Micheal’s.  They really make it feel like spring time.  When you pull the liner off the cupcake it looks just like a real flower.

Ingredients and Directions for Dulce de leche cupcakes

Ingredients and Directions for Dulce de leche cupcakes

1.  Ingredients

For the Cupcakes

3 1/4 cups flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

3/4 cup butter, softened

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

4 large eggs

1 1/2 cup buttermilk

For the Frosting

1/2 cup butter, softened

8 oz. (1 package) cream cheese, softened

3/4 cup dulce de leche, plus more for drizzling

2 to 3 cups powdered sugar

To Prepare the cupcakes

Place the oven racks in the center and upper third of the oven and preheat to 350 F.  Line two cupcake pans with paper or foil liners.  Set aside.

2. In the bowl of an electric stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, add butter and sugars.  Beat on medium speed until fluffy and pale brown, about 3 minutes.

3. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and add one egg.  Beat on medium speed for one minute.  Add the remaining eggs, one at a time, beating for one minute between each addition.  Beat in vanilla.

4. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder and baking soda.  Add half of the flour mixture to the egg and butter mixture.  Beat on low speed and slowly drizzle in the buttermilk.  Beat until just incorporated.

5. Scrape down the bowl and add the remaining dry ingredients.  Beat on low speed until just incorporated.   Try not to over mix the mixture.

Divide the batter between the prepared cupcake pans, filling each liner about two thirds full.  Bake for 18 to 20 minutes or until a cake tester inserted in the center of one of the cakes comes out clean.  Allow to cool slightly  in the cupcake pans before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.  Cupcakes should be completely cooled before frosting.

To Prepare the Frosting

6. Place cream cheese in the bowl of an electric stand mixer.  Beat on medium speed for about 30 seconds, until very soft and pliable.

7. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and add the butter and dulce de leche.  Beat on medium speed until well incorporated.

8. Stop the mixer and add the salt and powdered sugar.  Beat on medium speed for about 3 minutes, until fluffy and lighter in color.  Generously spoon frosting on top of cupcakes, or use a large 1 M Wilton star tip to pipe on frosting.

To finish the cupcakes, heat a few spoonfuls of dulce de leche in a small pot over low heat until just pourable.  Drizzle it over the cupcakes and top with a few sprinkles.  You could add a few sprinkles of fine sea salt if you’re feeling fancy.

Dulce de Leche Cupcakes

Dulce de Leche Cupcakes

It is plain to see why cupcakes are so addicting, right?  Or is it just me?  I see them and I just want to make them.  I want to make so many different types and learn all sorts of new decorating techniques.  Will you please let me send you some cupcakes?

From our kitchen to yours,
Sydney Jones

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2011 10:48 am

    Wow! That cupcake recipe is amazing. There are so lovely and very inviting.

  2. April 12, 2011 2:57 pm

    I just wanted to say, I surely enjoyed your blog post and I added your link to my wordpress blog today as a recommended site. This is the blog I was looking for! Thanks

  3. barbara Hickey permalink
    April 29, 2011 8:37 pm

    will be trying these cupcakes next week for chino de mayo.

    Have a great site for you to check out, family friendly and great idea to do as a family

    //www.lighthouseexplorations.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

