Skip to content

Mini Frozen Reese’s Peanut Butter Mousse Cakes

May 21, 2011

Mini Frozen Reese's Peanut Butter Mousse Cakes

Mini Frozen Reese's Peanut Butter Mousse Cakes

Are you ready for this?  I have come to the acceptance stage of my addiction.  Yes, I have discovered I have another addiction.  Peanut butter.  I am addicted to peanut butter.  It’s not funny.  It’s so bad that I have dragged my dog into it with me.  So, now there are two of us addicts eating peanut butter every chance we get.  I have to tell you something else.  It’s not pretty.  When the craving hits, I grab the jar and a spoon and dive right in.  I’m past the embarrassment part.  Like I mentioned earlier I have accepted it, you should too.

There are times when I have more class than to just sit and eat the peanut butter right out of the jar.  Take for instance, this mini frozen Reese’s peanut butter mousse cake, it’s classy.  It is decadent, rich and oh so soothing.  This frozen dessert is simple to make and is a far cry from a jar of peanut butter 🙂

If you love Reese’s peanut butter cups and frozen desserts, you’ll be in absolute heaven when you dive into this.  It is so light in texture but rich in flavor.  I used 4-inch mini spring form pans because I love all things mini and I am constantly looking for things to make in my 4-inch spring form pans.  You could make this in a 9-inch spring form pan if you do not have the mini versions.  This dessert is not only delicious it is quick, 20 minutes quick, I’m not kidding try it!

Ingredients and Directions for Mini Frozen Reese's Peanut Butter Mousse Cakes

Ingredients and Directions for Mini Frozen Reese's Peanut Butter Mousse Cakes

1.  Ingredients 

 2 cups oreo cookie crumbs

4 tablespoon butter, melted

2 ½ cups Whipped Cream

¾ cup creamy peanut butter

½ cup icing sugar

4 Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, roughly chopped

To Prepare the Crusts

   2. Place Oreo crumbs in a bowl and mix in the melted butter.

To Prepare the Reese’s Peanut Butter Mousse Filling

3.  Place peanut butter and icing sugar in a pan over low heat and stir until combined and peanut butter is melted. Set aside for five minutes to cool.

4.  Firmly press crumbs into pan to create a crust. Bake crust at 350 F for 7-10 minutes.

5.  Add 1/2 the whipped cream to the cooled peanut butter mixture.

6.  Gently fold the whipped cream into the peanut butter mixture until combined.

7.  Gently fold in chopped Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups into peanut butter whipped cream mixture.

   8. Pour mixture into Oreo crust and freeze for 3 hours. Garnish with caramel and chocolate drizzle (for added decadence rim with chopped Reese’s pieces).

Makes 2 – 4-inch or 1 – 9-inch spring form cakes

Mini Frozen Reese's Peanut Butter Mousse Cakes

Mini Frozen Reese's Peanut Butter Mousse Cakes

WARNING:  This frozen dessert is not for the faint of heart.  It is for people with serious peanut butter and sweets addictions.  I am usually able to tolerate high dosages of sugar but this one was incredible.  It took me a few days to finish one, they are intense 🙂  Does anyone else share a peanut butter addiction?  I believe there are strength in numbers!

From our kitchen to yours,
Sydney Jones

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

