Skip to content

Quinoa ~ Toffee Mocha Squares

June 11, 2011

Gluten Free Toffee Mocha Squares

Toffee Mocha Squares

I mentioned the other day I had hit a little bout of baker’s block.  It’s unfortunate when it happens.  It saddens me.  I love baking.  I love being in the kitchen and when something like baker’s block hits it’s an emergency situation.  I knew that I had to do something quick.  I had to find something that intrigued me.  Something different.  Something I had no experience with.  I was introduced to an amazing book on quinoa at work called Quinoa 365 the everyday superfood It is amazing.  So when I was in search of something new to do in the kitchen I instantly thought of quinoa.  What an amazing whole grain.  It is often used for gluten intolerant people.  It is a great substitute for a lot of things.  You can buy quinoa in flour form to use in baking.  You can purchase seeds and use it as you would rice.  It has a nutty flavor and smell.  Those on weight-loss diets can also benefit from quinoa which is a complex carbohydrate, also known as a “good” carbohydrate.   Quinoa has been ranked as one of the top ten muscle-building foods for its protein, amino acid content and complex carbohydrates.

If that’s not reason enough to try quinoa I don’t know what is.  I am totally enthralled with it.  I have been making salads, cereals and all sorts of meals with it.  It is a little pricey but when you think about the benefits that come with it it is well worth the cost.

These toffee mocha squares are amazing.  They are perfect with a cup of coffee in the afternoon or as an evening snack.  If you do not have a lot of experience using quinoa don’t be afraid.  Try it just once, I think you’ll be hooked.

Ingredients and Directions for Toffee Mocha Squares

Ingredients and Directions for Toffee Mocha Squares

1.  Ingredients

1/3 cup toasted and chopped pecans

1/3 cup butter, softened

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1 egg

2 teaspoons strong coffee

1 cup quinoa flour

1 cup toffee bits

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

To Prepare the Toffee Mocha Squares

Preheat the oven to 350 F.  Grease a 9 inch square baking pan and line with parchment paper.

2.  Cream the butter and sugar in the bowl of your electric mixer until smooth.  Mix in the egg and coffee.

3.  Add the quinoa flour, toffee bits and baking soda.

4.  Mix thoroughly and press into the baking dish.  Bake on the center oven rack for 15 minutes or until lightly golden.

5.  Remove from the oven and sprinkle evenly with the chocolate chips.  Return to the oven for 1 more minute.

6.  Using an off set spatula, spread the melted chocolate chips evenly across the baked dough.  Sprinkle immediately with the toasted pecans.  Cool completely before cutting into 16 squares.  Store leftovers in a sealed container in the refrigerator for up to 1 week or in the freezer for up to 1 month.

From Quinoa 365

Toffee Mocha Squares

Toffee Mocha Squares

These little squares will satisfy your sweet tooth and melt in your mouth.

From our kitchen to yours,
Sydney Jones

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2011 3:48 pm

    I just picked up this book at Costco. We are looking to get away from potato and rice, so I thought we’d try quinoa. This looks really good, and I am looking forward to trying lots of recipes from the book.

  2. June 11, 2011 5:02 pm

    These look amazing! I never considered using quinoa flour but will consider trying this for sure 🙂

  3. June 11, 2011 5:24 pm

    Awesome, I know that Quinoa flour has more amino acids, enzymes, fiber, antioxidants, and phytonutrients than most other grains compare to barley corn it has more calcium, phosphorus, magnesium, potassium, iron, copper, manganese, and zinc. I also love peccans.

Trackbacks

  1. Quinoa with Poached Eggs, Spinach, and Cucumber « Sydney'sKitchen

Leave a Reply

