Skip to content

Cream Cheese Pound Cake

July 10, 2011

Cream Cheese Pound Cake with Fresh Strawberries

Cream Cheese Pound Cake with Fresh Strawberries

Every time I think of pound cake I picture my grandma in her kitchen with curlers in her hair and a pound cake on the counter.  I’m not sure why I associate my grandmother with pound cakes but I do.  I have never actually made a pound cake.  This was my first ever pound cake.  It is dense and delicious.  I actually made the cake because I want to try my hand at baked Alaska’s and I need pound cake to do that.  I am really happy that I tried making this cake because it is so easy to make and it tastes so buttery and rich but not in an overwhelming way.

If you were making this cake as a stand alone dessert you could add some fresh lemon zest and it would add a whole new dimension to your pound cake.  This cake is perfect for summer barbeques served with whatever berry is in season!

Ingredients and Directions for Cream Cheese Pound Cake with Fresh Strawberries

Ingredients and Directions for Cream Cheese Pound Cake with Fresh Strawberries

1.  Ingredients

1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened

1 1/2 cups butter, softened

3 cups granulated sugar

6 large eggs

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon vanilla

To Prepare the Pound Cake

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Grease and flour a 10 inch bundt pan.

2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, fitted with the paddle attachment, or with a hand mixer in a large bowl, cream the butter and cream cheese until smooth.

3.  Add the sugar gradually to the butter and beat on medium speed until light fluffy, about 3 minutes.

4. Add eggs two at a time, beating well with each addition.

5.  Add the flour all at once and mix in. Add vanilla and mix thoroughly.

6. Pour into prepared pan. Bake at 325 F for 1 hour and 20 minutes. Check for doneness at 1 hour. A toothpick inserted into center of cake will come out clean.

From Allrecipes

Cream Cheese Pound Cake with Fresh Strawberries

Cream Cheese Pound Cake with Fresh Strawberries

I love this cake.  It is so basic and easy to make.  This pound cake will keep for 3 days in an air tight container.

From our kitchen to yours,
Sydney Jones

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2011 4:41 am

    The amazing pics thats cake looks like delicious and very good

    faridahttp://kitchensuperfood.com

Trackbacks

  1. White Chocolate Strawberry Rhubarb Trifles « Sydney'sKitchen
  2. Frozen Strawberry Daiquiri Trifles « Sydney'sKitchen
  3. Mini Pistachio Pound Cakes « Sydney'sKitchen

Leave a Reply

