Skip to content

Roasted Garlic Hummus

July 19, 2011

Hummus

Roasted Garlic Hummus

One of my favorite things to do in the summer time is to make platters.  I love, love, love platters.  They are so simple to make and the varieties are endless.  My two favorite platters are cheese and crackers and vegetables and dip.  This platter is a combination of the two.  I also added some hummus for the dip and boy was it a wise choice.

Do you like hummus?  I love hummus.  Did you know that word hummus is Arabic for chickpea?  It does.  It was news to me, you probably already knew.  Hummus is loaded with iron and vitamin C and it also has a significant amount of folate and vitamin B6.  The hummus that I made was roasted garlic hummus.  I love garlic.  It is amazing.  Not everyone that comes close to me loves garlic as much as I do but hey that’s okay.

Roasted Garlic Hummus

 1 can chickpeas(15 oz.)
2 cloves roasted garlic
1/2 tablespoon lemon juice
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 teaspoon oregano
salt and pepper to taste

To Prepare the Hummus

In a food processor, process beans, garlic, olive oil, lemon juice and oregano until desired consistency. If hummus is too thick, simply add olive oil in small increments (1/2 teaspoon) until desired consistency.

Serve the roasted garlic hummus garnished with finely chopped parsley with hot pita bread, pita chips, or veggies.

Hummus may be prepared in advance up to two days if stored in airtight container in the refrigerator.

Hummus

Roasted Garlic Hummus

Hummus is great on warm pita bread or with crackers.  Serve it as an appetizer dip or spread.  This is a healthy and nutritious snack that everyone will love.

From our kitchen to yours,
Sydney Jones

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2011 11:08 am

    I love hummus. It’s such a easy and healthy appetizer. Your recipe looks great! My favorite is a skinny remake of California Pizza Kitchen’s Tuscan Hummus, http://www.skinnykitchen.com/recipes/cpk’s-tuscan-hummus-made-skinny/

  2. July 25, 2011 12:39 pm

    Sydney,

    My kids and I love hummus (can’t convert my wife), but I never knew it was so easy to make! All I need to get is a can of chick peas!

    One thing that threw me is that I didn’t know how to roast garlic. I just found this Sydney-esque tutorial: http://simplyrecipes.com/recipes/roasted_garlic/

    John R. — TheDailyGraff.com

    P.S. Do you realize that your digital recipes will be lovingly passed down from generation to generation?

Trackbacks

  1. Roasted Red Pepper Hummus « Sydney'sKitchen

Leave a Reply

