Skip to content

Bruschetta

August 24, 2011

Bruschetta

Bruschetta

In the summer time one of my favorite things to do is to sit outside on a patio and eat appetizers and consume drinks that are slushie  and may or may not have an umbrella in them.  I could go as far as to say that it is the one past time I can not pass up.  I don’t know what exactly it is about summer that makes me crave patios and small food.  It maybe the sun, the heat or a combination of the two.  I think another reason that I love the patio is that there is usually plants on them in the summer.  I love sitting amongst fresh flowers and a variety of vegetables that could be picked at any point in time just as your hunger hits.

Do you grow your own tomatoes on your patio?  I have a few plants on my patio but it has been a strange summer for tomato plants.  I have not had any actual tomatoes yet this year and have only recently noticed a couple of flowers.  I am still hoping that they will produce at least one tomato as I really love tomatoes that I have grown on my own.  The other day after making Ciabatta I had a wonderful idea to remake bruschetta.  There is nothing quite like fresh tomatoes (from the farmer’s market), basil and garlic on fresh bread.  I could eat it everyday, all day, I really think that I am Italian sometimes.

Bruschetta

8 ripe tomatoes

1 pinch sea salt

freshly ground black pepper

2 tablespoons olive oil

1-2 tablespoon balsamic vinegar

8-10 slices of bread, toasted

2 cloves of garlic, peeled and minced, plus 2 extra peeled cloves

1 tablespoon dried basil

20 fresh basil leaves

To Prepare the Bruschetta

Remove the seeds from the tomatoes, dice and season with salt and pepper.   Drizzle generously with olive oil, add 1-2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar, the minced garlic, and dried basil and leave to marinate for 30 minutes.  Toast the slices of bread until crispy in a broiler, toaster, or in the oven.  While they are still hot, rub them with the fresh garlic cloves.  Spread the tomato over the bread, garnish with the basil leaves and serve immediately.

Makes 8-10 servings

* You may want to cut back on the garlic a little, I tend to use a ton.

Bruschetta

Bruschetta

This is the perfect afternoon snack or appetizer, you could also serve it for brunch or a light lunch with a tall frosty strawberry daiquiri or just something tall and frosty!

From our kitchen to yours,
Sydney Jones

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

