Skip to content

Wonton Soup

October 1, 2011

Wonton Soup

Wonton Soup

I’m not usually a soup person.  I love making soups but I have never really liked eating them.  I’m really have no explanation for myself, just one of those things.  I do however, love making wontons.  I thought that homemade Wonton Soup would be a grand idea for today because what else do you do when you are expecting 50-80 mm of rain?!!  Yes, that’s right you stay dry in the kitchen and make the most amazing wonton soup you have ever had.  Are you expecting a lot of rain where you are?  May I suggest to you that if you are indeed expecting a lot of rain you stay indoors and make this amazing wonton soup.

I have to share this recipe with you because I feel that you must make it.  Have I told you that it is an amazing soup?  I think I may have mentioned it 🙂  Surprisingly, wontons are easy to make.  They are a little time consuming and require a wee bit of patients patience but let me tell you something, they are divine!  The filling for these wontons is quite basic, it is a ground pork and shrimp filling with green onions, fresh ginger and soy sauce, easy right?  The best part is it’s great for rainy days.

Wonton Soup

Ingredients

For the Wontons

1/2 lb lean ground pork
1/4 lb peeled shrimp, chopped
1 1/2-inch piece of minced fresh ginger
3 green onions, the white parts finely chopped and the green tops reserved
2 teaspoons soy sauce
Salt and pepper
30 wonton wrappers

For the Soup

6 cups chicken broth
1 cup water
2 tablespoons fish sauce
2 carrots, thinly sliced on the diagonal
1 cup thinly sliced mushrooms

To Prepare the Wontons

In a bowl, combine all the ingredients except the wrappers. Season with salt and pepper.
Place 2 teaspoons of the meat and shrimp mixture in the centre of a wrapper. Moisten the outside border with water. Seal by lifting up the wrapper and squeezing the edges together. Transfer to a baking sheet. Stuff the remaining wrappers.

To Prepare the  Soup

In a large saucepan, bring the broth, water and fish sauce to a boil. Add the wontons, carrots and mushrooms. Return to a boil, reduce the heat and simmer until the wontons are cooked through, about 6 minutes. Adjust the seasoning.
Meanwhile, thinly slice the green onion tops on the diagonal. Garnish the soup with the sliced onion tops and serve.
Note: If you serve the soup the next day, add chicken broth or water as necessary.

From Food Network

Wonton Soup

Wonton Soup

This wonton soup is not overwhelmed with tastes.  It is simple and delicious!

From our kitchen to yours,
Sydney Jones

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenny permalink
    October 2, 2011 10:23 am

    I’ve never made mine with patients (I like to make mine by myself)…although wonton do require patience! Heehee…

    • October 2, 2011 11:02 am

      LOL!!! It’s not my first time making that mistake, glad you pointed it out 😉 Thanks Jenny!

  2. October 12, 2011 6:08 pm

    Thanks for the recipe, Sydney. I love wonton soup.

Leave a Reply

