Skip to content

Cobb Salad

October 4, 2011

Cobb Salad

Cobb Salad

The rain subsided for a day or so only to return in full force today.  Yes, another 50-100 mm of rain is expected.  I am aware that this is a food blog and that the focus is on food here but I have to tell you the weather really plays apart in what I eat.  When it’s cold and rainy I eat.  I eat, I eat, and I eat.  I’m not sure why but when it’s cold, dark and dreary I eat.  Perhaps it is an attempt to add more fat to my body so that it isn’t so cold, I don’t know for sure.  The days in between the rain are lighter eating days.  I have found that salads are great on those days after the rain.  This classic Cobb salad is an in between the rainy days meal.  It is a hearty salad with loads of balance.  Did you know that this salad was invented in 1937?  Ya, me neither!  It was invented at The Brown Derby’s Restaurant in Hollywood.  So, the story goes, the salad was invented by Cobb or by his chef, Chuck Wilson. The legend is that Cobb had not eaten near midnight, and so he mixed together leftovers he found in the kitchen, along with some bacon cooked by the line cook, and tossed it with their French dressing.  Thanks Wikipedia 🙂  This salad is more of a main dish than a side.  The bottom line here is that you need to make a Cobb salad and eat it!!

Classic Cobb Salad

Ingredients

For the Dressing
1/2 cup canola oil
1/8 cup extra-virgin olive oil
1/8 cup red wine vinegar
1/2 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon dry mustard
1/4 teaspoon Worcestershire
1/8 teaspoon sugar
1 clove garlic, minced
Salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

For the Salad
1/2 head iceberg lettuce, cored and shredded
1/2 head romaine lettuce, chopped
1/2 bunch watercress, some of the stems trimmed, chopped
6 strips cooked bacon, roughly chopped
3 hard-boiled eggs, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch cubes
2 medium tomatoes, seeded, and cut into 1/2-inch cubes
1 boneless skinless chicken breast, cooked and cut into 1/2-inch cubes
1 avocado, peeled, pitted, and cut into 1/2-inch cubes
Salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

To Make the dressing: Combine the canola oil, olive oil, vinegar, lemon juice, mustard, Worcestershire, sugar, and garlic in a blender. Purée the ingredients to make a smooth dressing and season with salt and pepper. Set the dressing aside.

To Make the salad: On a large platter, combine the iceberg and romaine lettuces along with the watercress. Arrange the bacon, eggs, tomatoes, chicken, and avocado on top of the greens in neat rows. To serve, drizzle salad with dressing, season with salt and pepper, and top with chives. Alternatively, toss everything together in a bowl.

Advanced Prep: Salad dressing keeps, covered and refrigerated, for up to one week. Individual ingredients (except the avocado, which is too prone to browning) can be prepped and chopped, and kept in separate containers in the fridge until you’re ready to assemble the salad.

Makes 4 to 6 servings

From the Smitten Kitchen

Cobb Salad

Cobb Salad

This is an amazing salad.  I personally left out the blue cheese as I am not a fan but feel free to add it to your salad.

From our kitchen to yours,
Sydney Jones

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 4, 2011 4:26 pm

    I LOVE cobb salad. It just makes me happy when I make one and yours look amazing. I also love the tips you give within this post. I really enjoyed this post.. Now I’m definitely hungry lol

Leave a Reply

