Skip to content

Thanksgiving Leftovers ~ Mini Turkey Burgers

October 11, 2011

Mini Turkey Burgers
Mini Turkey Burgers

One of the great things about Thanksgiving is the leftovers.  I love turkey.  My very favorite way to use up turkey leftovers is by making toasted turkey sandwiches with cranberry sauce, lettuce, tomatoes and cheese.  Oooohh, they are my weakness.  I will do anything for a leftover turkey sandwich.  I do however enjoy switching things up and trying new things.  I have never ground my own turkey before and with all the leftovers I thought it would be a great idea to try it.  I have to tell you, everyday my kitchen pleases me, when I discovered the food grinder attachment I was over the moon.  So, I ground up some turkey leftovers and made mini turkey burgers 🙂  There is nothing like burgers made from scratch.

Mini Turkey Burgers

Ingredients

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 lb lean ground turkey

2 cloves of minced garlic

1/2 teaspoon each of oregano, thyme and basil

salt and pepper to taste

2 eggs, lightly beaten

2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

1/2 to 3/4 cup bread crumbs

1/4 cup Parmesan cheese

3-4 slices of Provolone cheese

To Prepare the Burgers

In a medium size bowl combine all the ingredients and mix thoroughly.

Form the meat into balls.  Then roll the balls in the palm of your hand, and flatten the patty. 

Place the prepared patties on a plate and refrigerate until ready to use.

To Prepare

Over medium-high heat in a non-stick fry pan add the olive oil.  When the oil is hot add the burger patties and cook until browned on both sides and cooked through.  Add a slice of cheese to each burger and place under the broiler watching carefully as the cheese melts.  Remove from heat and serve on toasted mini ciabatta buns that have been toasted.

Makes 12 mini turkey burgers

Mini Turkey Burgers

Mini Turkey Burgers

If you are looking for a way to utilize your leftovers you really ought to try making you own burgers by grinding your own meat!

From our kitchen to yours,
Sydney Jones

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 16, 2011 9:42 am

    Perfect timing, Sydney! You’ve done us a great service with all of your Thanksgiving-themed recipes this past week. –John

Leave a Reply

