Skip to content

Corn Fritters

October 13, 2011

Corn Fritters

Corn Fritters

Corn Fritters have been on my ‘to do’ list for some time now.  Guess what?  I made them!  Finally.  I was thinking of ways to use up some of the fresh corn on the cob I had in the fridge and thought that it was the perfect time to try making them.  I have some super news for you all, they are so easy to make!  I had no idea, really.  I love when things are easy and they taste great.

These corn fritters would make great appetizers and would also be lovely for a brunch.  You can serve them with a chili sour cream or if you prefer maple syrup.  These corn fritters are made just like pancakes so there really is nothing to fear.

On a side note, I wanted to point out the unique cutting board in the photo, it was given to me as an early birthday gift so you will be seeing a lot of it in the future 🙂  This cutting board is a true treasure for those of us who love spending time in the kitchen.  The name of the board is the Carver’s board and it is handmade here in Canada at Larch Wood Ent.  I have to tell you that this board is amazing, I don’t even want to cut on it because it is so beautiful.  You can tell just by looking at it that the hands that crafted it really took their time and put a lot of pride into it.  If you ever have the opportunity to stop by Larch Wood in Cape Breton, N.S. I highly recommend that you do, it is very interesting to see and learn about. Thank you 🙂

Corn Fritters

Ingredients

2 cups fresh corn (canned or frozen also work well, be sure to thaw if frozen and drain well)
2 egg yolks
2 tablespoon flour
1 tablespoon sugar
1/4 cup chopped chives or green onions
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
2 egg whites
2 tablespoon oil

To Prepare the Corn Fritters

Combine first 8 ingredients in large mixing bowl and mix well. Gently mash corn a little with a fork until it’s a little pulpy. In a separate bowl, beat egg whites until peaks form. Gently fold into corn mixture to make light and fluffy. DO NOT OVER MIX.
Heat oil in large skillet over med-high heat and drop in corn mixture by the heaping tablespoon. Cook 2 minutes on the first side (until golden brown).  Then turn and cook until golden brown on the other side.

Makes 24 Corn Fritters

From the Joy of Cooking

Corn Fritters

Corn Fritters

Corn Fritters are something you have to do especially if you have never made them.  You’ll love them, I promise 🙂

From our kitchen to yours,
Sydney Jones

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2011 6:51 pm

    I love corn fritters! These look great. I haven’t made em in a while – but you have inspired me! Buzzed ya.

  2. October 24, 2011 10:14 pm

    I’m sure this is co yummy. Fresh corn and pretty well cooked corn fritters.

Trackbacks

  1. BBQ Grail’s Ten Posts Worth A Look: 10/18/2011 | The BBQ Grail

Leave a Reply

