Skip to content

Mini Orange Pineapple Muffins

October 14, 2011

Mini Orange Pineapple Muffins

Mini Orange Pineapple Muffins

I don’t eat out much.  I have worked in far too many restaurants to eat out.  Once in a while though I can be persuaded to have a meal that I didn’t make with my own hands.  The other day was one of those days.  I was in great company and we were touring about which leads to a grumbly tummy so we thought we would stop to have lunch at a lovely little restaurant called the Happy Cooker.  I have to tell you it was a wonderfully run restaurant.  As we were leaving I had a wee look at some of the muffins that were on the counter because I love to see new muffin varieties that I can try at home.  I came across a few great ideas and one of which was a zucchini pecan muffin that you may see at a later date.  The reason I was impressed with this establishment was because as I was looking at the muffins the owner approached me and offered fresh from the oven muffins.  I usually don’t have any trouble saying ‘no’ but this time I thought that I would wait to see what he brought out because he was so kind to offer.  I have to tell you, I am so glad I waited.  He brought out the most tender, warm and fresh muffins.  They were orange pineapple muffins, I fell in love instantly.  They were full of flavor and very fragrant.    If you are ever in the area you really should stop in and have a muffin at the Happy Cooker 🙂  it is a splendid little place!

Mini Orange Pineapple Muffins

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups flour
3/4 cup sugar
2 teaspoon baking powder
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
1/3 cup pineapple juice
1/8 cup milk
1 cup crushed pineapple, drained

For the topping

Zest of one orange
3 tablespoons sugar

To Prepare the topping

Combine the orange zest and sugar in a small bowl and stir.

To Prepare the Muffins

Place all the dry ingredients into a medium size bowl and mix them together; add the crushed pineapple and stir to combine.

Place the vegetable oil, pineapple juice, milk and the egg into a glass measuring cup and whisk together.

Pour the egg-oil-milk mixture into the bowl with the dry ingredients and mix with a wooden spoon until just combined.  Make sure NOT to over mix your batter or your muffins will not be fluffy and light.

Spoon the batter into a muffin tin.  Fill each paper cup at least to ¾.   Sprinkle the sugar zest mixture on top of the muffins.

Bake in a preheated fan forced oven at 350°C for 12-15 minutes or until cooked. When ready, take them out of the oven and let them cool down in the pan for a few minutes. Then carefully pull them out of the pan and put them on a rack to cool down completely.

Makes 24 mini muffins or 12 regular

Mini Orange Pineapple Muffins

Mini Orange Pineapple Muffins

These mini muffins are a must do!  The combination of orange and pineapple is a new one for me and I have to tell you, I love it!

From our kitchen to yours,
Sydney Jones

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2011 9:51 pm

    These look lovely!

  2. October 16, 2011 9:33 am

    Can’t wait to make these, Sydney. The beauty of this recipe is that I usually have all of these ingredients on hand, so I could make a batch anytime without having to make a quick dash to the store. –John

Leave a Reply

