Skip to content

Brown Butter Babies

November 7, 2011

Brown Butter Babies

Brown Butter Babies

I’m not sure if you really want to hear what I am going to tell you so prepare yourself.  Ready?  Christmas is coming!  There are only 46 days left.  47 sleeps.  It’s coming, no joke.  Every year I have grand plans for my baking.  I always start early so that I am prepared for what is to come.  I only have one problem with my plan, only one, it always gets eaten well before the big day.  You would think that I would learn but no, no I don’t.  So, here I am again this year baking my Christmas cookies probably way too early.  I am adding a new cookie to my Christmas collection this year, Brown Butter Babies.  I love brown butter. The flavor is nutty and super delicious so adding it to cookies only makes sense, right?!  These cookies are super easy to whip up.  They won’t last long so you’ll do best doubling the batch and making extra!

Brown Butter Babies

Ingredients

3/4 cup butter

1 1/2 cups brown sugar

2 eggs

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

2 cups flour

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

3 tablespoons of granulated sugar

30 whole pecans or walnut halves

To Prepare

Preheat oven to 350 F.  Line 4 baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside.

In a small saucepan cook the butter until brown, about 5 minutes; cool.

In the bowl of your electric mixer, beat the brown sugar with the cooled butter until fluffy.  Add the eggs and vanilla, scrape the sides of the bowl and beat to combine.

In a separate bowl whisk together the flour, baking powder, and baking soda.  Stir into the butter mixture in two additions.  If your dough is too soft refrigerate for about 30 minutes.

Roll by rounded 1 tablespoon into balls; roll the balls in the granulated sugar and place on a baking sheet about 3-inches apart.  With the bottom of a glass press to about 1/2-inch thickness.  Press a pecan half into each center.

Bake until golden about 12-14 minutes.  Allow to cool on the baking sheets on a wire rack for about 3 minutes, then transfer to the wire racks and allow to cool completely.

Makes 4 dozen cookies

Brown Butter Babies

Brown Butter Babies

These cookies are amazing!  They are my new favorite.  These cookies will pack well if you are planning on making cookie tins for loved ones.

From our kitchen to yours,
Sydney Jones

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2011 11:55 am

    Thanks for sharing this recipe, Sydney. I can’t wait to try them! –John

Trackbacks

  1. Coconut Cream-Filled Macaroons « Sydney'sKitchen
  2. Hazelnut Jam Thumbprints « Sydney'sKitchen
  3. Christmas Gift Idea ~ Assorted Cookie Tins « Sydney'sKitchen

Leave a Reply

