Skip to content

Chocolate Thumbprints

November 17, 2011

Chocolate Thumbprints

Chocolate Thumbprints

I’m just going to lay it out flat for you.  I still have some more cookies coming.  There I said it.  I feel as though I should explain.  I have a tendency of going a little overboard.  I think that I have heard it called an addiction, obsessiveness, blah, blah, blahhhhh.  The fact of the matter is that when I like to do something I do it until I get sick of it.  So, what does this mean for you?!  It simply means when I like something you’ll probably see it for a few days, that’s all 🙂

Thumbprints are a new cookie for me.   New, like just this year new.  I really enjoy them.  They are so easy to bake, I just don’t know why I haven’t been making them all along.  I am not certain which cookie I prefer more the Hazelnut Jam Thumbprint or this chocolate thumbprint, they are both delicious 🙂  I do know that the little ones will probably prefer the chocolate.

Chocolate Thumbprints

Ingredients

1 cup plus 6 tablespoons of butter, room temperature

1 cup icing sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla

2 1/2 cups flour

6 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped

2 teaspoons corn syrup

To Prepare

Preheat the oven to 350F.  Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat together 1 cup of butter, the icing sugar, and vanilla on medium speed until smooth, about 2 minutes.  Beat in the flour, beginning on low speed and increasing to medium until combined.

Form into balls using 2 teaspoons of dough for each; place the balls 1 inch apart on prepared baking sheets.   Bake for 10 minutes, remove from the oven, and press your thumb into each cookie to make a deep, wide indentation.  Rotate the pan, and return to the oven; bake until  light brown on the edges, 7-9 minutes more.  (If the indentations begin to lose definition, remove the cookies from the oven and press again.)  Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Combine chocolate, the remaining 6 tablespoons of butter, and the corn syrup in a small heatproof bowl set over a pot of simmering water; stir occasionally until melted and smooth.  Allow to cool a bit until slightly thickened.  Fill the thumbprints with the chocolate mixture, and set aside to firm up.  Cookies can be stored in a single layer in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 3 days.

Makes 4 1/2 dozen

From Martha Stewart Cookies

Chocolate Thumbprints

Chocolate Thumbprints

These cookies are really easy to make and they look really fancy 🙂

From our kitchen to yours,
Sydney Jones

P.S.  I am working on new cookie-free material

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2011 10:41 pm

    I look forward to your cookie photos! Keep ’em comin’!

Trackbacks

  1. Christmas Gift Idea ~ Assorted Cookie Tins « Sydney'sKitchen

Leave a Reply

