Skip to content

Ginger Pear Muffins

November 26, 2011

Ginger Pear Muffins

Ginger Pear Muffins

I bet that you have been a lot hungrier in the mornings lately.  You wake up and it’s cold and you don’t want to get out of bed but the kitchen is calling to you, saying “Come to me, I’ll warm you.”  Wait, is this you or me?!  Okay, it’s me. Shucks.  I don’t know why but when it’s cold I eat.  It must have something to do with my body trying to insulate itself from the cold.  This morning it was difficult crawling out of bed to get to the kitchen but I managed and when I was there I made these amazing Ginger Pear Muffins for breakfast!    Talk about fragrance warming you from the aroma alone, mm mm mm.  Not only are these muffins great for breakfast they are great for a nice light afternoon tea!

Ginger Pear Muffins

Ingredients

    2 1/2 cups flour

    1 teaspoons baking soda

    1 teaspoon ground ginger

    1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

    1/4 cup candied ginger, finely chopped

    3/4 cup packed brown sugar

    1/3 cup vegetable oil

    1 egg

    1 cup buttermilk

    2 cups chopped peeled pears

    Topping

    1/3 cup packed brown sugar

    2 tsp butter, melted

    1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

To Prepare

In bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, powdered and candied ginger,  and cinnamon.

In separate bowl, whisk brown sugar with oil; whisk in egg and buttermilk. Pour over dry ingredients; sprinkle with pears and stir just until dry ingredients are moistened. Spoon into greased or paper-lined muffin cups.

To Prepare the Topping

In bowl, combine brown sugar, butter and ginger; sprinkle over batter. Bake in centre of 350°F oven until tops are firm to the touch, about 25 minutes.

Makes 12 Muffins

From Canadian Living

Ginger Pear Muffins

Ginger Pear Muffins

These muffins are absolutely delicious, they will keep you nice and warm on those cold winter mornings 🙂

From our kitchen to yours,
Sydney Jones

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2011 10:00 pm

    I want these for breakfast tomorrow. But I don’t have pears. So I won’t want to get out of bed, and the kitchen will call me but it will say, “eat something that doesn’t compare to the ginger pear muffins.” Sad, but true.

    • November 27, 2011 7:47 am

      Dear Movita Beaucoup,

      I am a pear, I currently live at the grocery store near you. Please, I am begging you as a pear, get yourself out of bed tomorrow morning and come to the grocery store where I live. When you get to the grocery store, let yourself in and buy me, yes me the pears. You won’t need many of us pears, two will do just fine! Please, just don’t lay in bed thinking of ginger pear muffins, make them!

      Yours truly,
      Pear

      P.S. I hope that one day, you will help me move to your stomach and not charge me rent!

      • December 5, 2011 10:02 am

        Dear Pear,

        Please give your landlord notice. You’re moving in with me.

        Sincerely,
        movita beaucoup

  2. Hudson permalink
    December 4, 2011 1:51 pm

    I tried the recipe this morning. Had to go to Canadian Living Magazine to see how much salt. Without it, they come out very flat tasting. You need 1/2 tsp salt whisked with the flour, baking soda, ginger, SALT, and cinnamon.

    • December 4, 2011 4:27 pm

      I’m glad you tried the recipe, it’s great! The majority of the recipes on here do not contain salt because I use salted butter and for that reason I do not add salt to the majority of things that I bake and cook. It’s a personal preference. Aside from baking with yeast and a few other select things I rarely use it. Sorry you had to chase down the salt amount, hope you enjoyed them just the same 🙂

      • Hudson permalink
        December 5, 2011 12:07 pm

        I should have added that the candied ginger is great in these. I also appreciate you posting where the inspiration came from.
        It is a great recipe and immensely enjoyed. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

