Skip to content

Apple Walnut Cinnamon Bun Cupcakes

January 6, 2012

Apple Cinnamon Cupcakes

Apple Walnut Cinnamon Bun Cupcakes

I know that it is only January 6 and I also know that you have worked so hard this week staying away from all of those sweets that you over indulged in during the holidays.  I know.  I know you tried.  Some of you may have even thought that this was going to be a cake walk, so to speak.  Until…I made these for us.  I knew that by the end of the week you would be so crazy for anything sweet so I thought I would help your cravings subside.  I do this because I appreciate you.  I love that you come to visit and sit with me for a while.  Its all about presences 🙂  When you are in my presence it makes me want to make you presents! Ha.  I won’t do that again, okay.

I came across this recipe the other day when I was stumbling around the web.  Do you guys use that stumbleupon?  You really should giver a go, it’s really a lot of fun and you can find so many interesting sites you might otherwise never find.

This recipe is really a standard cinnamon bun recipe with a few alterations.  For example, there are apples, walnuts, oh and did I mention you make them in cupcake liners!!! Friggin’ awesome, right?!  I know!!  So, you make them just as you would regular cinnamon buns but with a few extra goodies in them and then stuff them into the cupcake liners, rise, bake and drizzle 🙂  Oh, you are going to curse me for these, I can hear it already.  It’s okay.  I completely understand and guess what, after this weekend you can start fresh on Monday.  What do you think?  Just try one they are AMAZING!!  If you love cinnamon buns I promise you’ll love these.

Apple Walnut Cinnamon Bun Cupcakes

Ingredients

For the Dough

2 cups 2% milk
1 tablespoon  active dry yeast
1/3 cup sugar
2 teaspoons salt
6 ½ cups all-purpose flour, divided
2 eggs
¼ cup  butter, room temperature

For the Filling

½ cup butter, melted
1 cup sugar
1 cup brown sugar
3 tablespoons cinnamon
1 cup loosely chopped walnuts
2 cups finely chopped tart apples

To Prepare

In a small saucepan or a microwave oven, warm milk to about 110 F.

In a large mixing bowl, dissolve yeast and sugar in the milk.

Add salt and two cups of flour and beat for two minutes.

Beat in eggs and butter.

Stir in the remaining flour a half cup at a time, beating well after each addition.

Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead until smooth and elastic (about five minutes).

Place the dough in a large bowl and cover it with a towel.  Set in a warm place and allow to rise for 40 minutes or until approximately doubled in volume.

Roll out dough into a long rectangle about 1/4” thick.

Brush with about half of the melted butter.

To Prepare the filling

In a medium-sized bowl, mix sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, walnuts, and apples.

Spread the apple/walnut mixture evenly over the dough, leaving about an inch empty on all sides.

Roll dough over itself from back to front along the long side of the rectangle to form a log. Slice the log into 24 even pieces.

Line cupcake tins with cupcake liners and place each piece of the log in a cupcake liner.  If they don’t fit, fold the ends together to make a “C” shape.  The pieces should come to about the top of the liners.

Cover the cupcake tins and set in a warm place to rise for another 40 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 350 F.

Evenly distribute the remaining ¼ cup of melted butter over the tops of the cupcakes.

Bake for 20 minutes or until the tops are golden.

Apple Cider Glaze Ingredients

1 cup powdered sugar
2 tablespoons + 1 teaspoon apple cider

Directions

In a medium-sized bowl, mix powdered sugar and apple cider until fully combined.

Drizzle over cupcakes.

Makes 24 cupcakes

From Stefani Pollack of Cupcake Project:  An Experimental Cupcake Blog

Apple Cinnamon Cupcakes

Apple Walnut Cinnamon Bun Cupcakes

If you have a little extra time this weekend you really should try a batch of these cupcakes.  If you make the dough when you wake up, go for a run while the dough rises you can finish making them when you get back in.  Then you won’t have to worry about breaking your resolutions.  Remember, moderation is key.

From our kitchen to yours,
Sydney Jones

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2012 8:02 pm

    And, I was doing sooooo good this week. Then, I saw these buns (which will go straight to my buns!) Thanks a lot! Seriously, these look divine. Going into my “must try” file.

    • January 7, 2012 7:03 am

      I’m so sorry Eliot. I really do feel terrible for this. They are so amazing though! Please, let me know what you think when you do decide to try 🙂 Happy New Year!

  2. Nancy permalink
    January 6, 2012 8:54 pm

    OMG.!! I was just talking to Christy not an hour ago and said I would love to have some cinnamon rolls . She is coming up tomorrow for afew days I just might have to get her to try this recipe . They look so good .

    • January 7, 2012 7:07 am

      Ha. That’s pretty funny! You really should get her to give these a try, she’ll love them and so will you. If you can’t eat all 24 they do freeze well 🙂 OH! By the way, I don’t have a microwave, so to heat them up I threw a dollop of butter into a fry pan and cut the cupcake in half and placed it in the pan. There is no better way to reheat these little guys. The butter and sugar get a little crunchy around the edge and the dough is so soft…I want more 🙂 I really hope you guys enjoy them!! The apple cider glaze is pretty yummy too!

  3. January 6, 2012 10:34 pm

    These look delicious. So beautifully presented, too!

    • January 7, 2012 7:08 am

      They are delicious, and thank you! You should give them a go and let me know what you think 🙂

  4. January 7, 2012 11:19 pm

    Another irresistable recipe. Thanks for all of the great recipes in 2011, Sydney, and HAPPY NEW YEAR!

    John

Trackbacks

  1. Cranberry-Pumpkin Seed Trail Mix « Sydney'sKitchen

Leave a Reply

