Skip to content

Cranberry-Pumpkin Seed Trail Mix

January 9, 2012

Cranberry-Pumpkin Seed Trail Mix

Cranberry-Pumpkin Seed Trail Mix

I felt really terrible the other day shoving those totally amazing Apple Walnut Cinnamon Bun Cupcakes.  To make it up to you I thought that today, being Monday, would be a great day to start fresh.  So, I made us a healthy snack that we can munch on with out feeling guilty for sabotaging all of our 2012 resolutions.  I can’t make any promises but I will try my best to keep the sugary treats for special occasions.  The problem with what I just said though is I think anything can be a special occasion.  I have a sweet tooth and IT decides when it will be craving sugary treats not I.  I will have a wee chat with my tooth about how you are all trying very hard to stay on the straight and narrow with the sugar sitting out on the side lines.

This trail mix is very simple to make.  You throw everything together and eat it!  Easy, or what?!!  If you like you may toast the nuts which will enhance the flavors.  All though this is a “healthy” snack it is high in calories due to the nuts.  Did  you know that pumpkin seeds contain 559 calories per 100 g?  Yep.  That’s a lot of fat and protein.  It is “good” fat but if you are watching your weight you may want to portion your servings.

Cranberry-Pumpkin Seed Trail Mix

Ingredients

    1/2 cup dried cranberries
1/2 cup chopped toasted almonds
1/2 cup whole toasted cashews
1/2 cup toasted pumpkin seeds
1/4 cup toasted walnuts
1/4 cup raisins

To Prepare

Combine cranberries, almonds, cashews, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, walnuts, and raisins.

Cranberry-Pumpkin Seed Trail Mix

Cranberry-Pumpkin Seed Trail Mix

I hope that you are maintaining your resolutions and that no one is trying to deter you with fattening and delicious treats.  I used locally grown cranberries from Terra Beta Farms.  If you are able to purchase locally grown food or berries, I would encourage you to do so 🙂

From our kitchen to yours,
Sydney Jones

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2012 10:06 pm

    Looks good. Here’s to trying to eat healthy in 2012. (It is a challenge for us all!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

