Skip to content

Cheese Twists

January 27, 2012

Cheese Sticks

Cheese Twists

I love cheese.  I could be a mouse because I love cheese so much.  Do mice even like cheese or is that a small tale?

Gruyere cheese is a hard yellow cheese, named after the town of Gruyères in Switzerland.  Gruyère is sweet but slightly salty, with a flavor that varies widely with age. It is often described as creamy and nutty when young, becoming with age more assertive, earthy, and complex. When fully aged (five months to a year) it tends to have small holes and cracks.

These cheese twists are very easy to accomplish, they take no time at all and are the perfect appetizer or snack.  There is no worrying about pastry, it’s already taken care of, really all you have to do is shred some cheese!!

Cheese Twists

Ingredients

   2 sheets (1 box) frozen puff pastry (such as Pepperidge Farm), defrosted overnight in the refrigerator
Flour, for dusting
1 extra-large egg
1 tablespoon water
1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan
1 cup finely grated Gruyère cheese
1 teaspoon minced fresh thyme leaves
1 teaspoon salt
Freshly ground black pepper

To Prepare

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

Roll out each sheet of puff pastry on a lightly floured board until it is 10- by 12-inches. Beat the egg with 1 tablespoon of water and brush the surface of the pastry. Sprinkle each sheet evenly with 1⁄4 cup of the Parmesan, 1⁄2 cup of the Gruyère, 1⁄2 teaspoon of the thyme, 1⁄2 teaspoon of the salt, and some pepper. With the rolling pin, lightly press the flavorings into the puff pastry. Cut each sheet crosswise with a floured knife or pizza wheel into 11 or 12 strips. Twist each strip and lay on baking sheets lined with parchment paper.

Bake for 10 to 15 minutes, or until lightly browned and puffed. Turn each straw and bake for another 2 minutes. Don’t over bake or the cheese will burn. Cool and serve at room temperature.

Makes 24 Cheese Twists

Sources
Ina Garten
&
Wikipedia

Cheese Sticks

Cheese Twists

If you are trying to find a way to utilize that box of puff pastry that has been hiding in your freezer, make these 🙂  They won’t last long though!

From our kitchen to yours,
Sydney Jones

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2012 7:02 pm

    I made some cheese crackers and cheese straws for some Christmas presents and I loved them. These actually look super easy and delicious!

    • January 28, 2012 6:19 am

      They would make wonderful Christmas gifts! These are very easy and take no time at all.

  2. January 27, 2012 10:24 pm

    I love cheese twists, cheese straws – things like this. I haven’t had them in years. I think the last time was when I used to live at home and my mother made them! I just love the contrasting colours between the dough and the cheese – so pretty! Reminds me I must make some myself sometime soon!

    Thanks for coming by my blog the other day – nice to find yours too! 🙂

    • January 28, 2012 6:21 am

      I’m glad you found our blog too Charles! And I am also happy that I found yours 🙂
      I hope you give these cheese twists a try, might make for a Five Euro Meal or slightly more. They are delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

