Skip to content

Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

February 15, 2012


Holidays, wipe me out.  Fact.  There are so many tiny details to tend to that my mind becomes fatigued with all of them.  When the holidays are over all I really want to do is sleep so that I can recuperate from the entire ordeal.  Sleep is not in the cards for me today, maybe this weekend….  I do hope that you all had the most lovely day yesterday filled with lots of love and tons of affection 🙂

Have you ever stuffed a portobello mushroom?  Until making these I had never stuffed a portobello mushroom.  Now that I have stuffed portobello mushrooms I am going to make a point of doing so more often.   This recipe is ridiculously easy.  I am not kidding.  You can grill the mushrooms on the BBQ or you can broil the mushrooms under the broiler in your oven.  Either way in less than 20 minutes you can be eating these wonderfully stuffed mushrooms!  This is a vegetarian dish but do not be fooled by this, these mushrooms are VERY filling.  I could barely eat two and that was me, done.  You have been forewarned 🙂

Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms
Ingredients

4 large portobellini mushrooms
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 cup shredded Gruyère cheese or Gouda cheese
1/2 cup fresh bread crumbs
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
1/4 cup toasted almonds, chopped
1/4 cup drained oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes, chopped
2 tablespoons minced fresh chives or green onions
1/4 teaspoon pepper

To Prepare

Remove stems from mushrooms and reserve for another use, such as stock. Brush mushrooms all over with oil.
In bowl, combine Gouda cheese, bread crumbs, parsley, almonds, sun-dried tomatoes, chives and pepper; set aside.
Place mushrooms, gill side down, on greased grill over medium-high heat; close lid and grill just until juices start to release, about 4 minutes.
Turn mushrooms and spoon cheese filling evenly over gills. Close lid and grill until cheese is melted and mushrooms are tender, about 4 minutes.

Serves 4
Source Canadian Living


This is a healthy and nutritious side or meal that will leave you completely satisfied.

From our kitchen to yours,
Sydney Jones

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2012 6:51 pm

    I love stuffed portobellos! They’re amazing, and surprisingly filling. This version looks wonderful!

  2. cookiemomma permalink
    February 15, 2012 7:57 pm

    This looks absolutely amazing!!!

  3. February 16, 2012 4:57 pm

    Hi Sydney, I love portobellos, but don’t think I ever stuffed them. They’re so huge aren’t they – and really meaty. It’s like eating a small steak each time I have one of the things 😀 Your filling looks really good – love the idea of adding sun-dried tomatoes!

    • February 16, 2012 6:33 pm

      This was my first time stuffing them, it is surprisingly easy to do. I can’t wait to have them again 🙂 They are a delicious mushroom for sure!

Trackbacks

  1. Stuffed Mushrooms with Pancetta, Shallots & Sage « Sydney'sKitchen

Leave a Reply

