Skip to content

Spring Butterfly Cookies

March 23, 2012

When I decided to be a baker, two years ago, I had no real concept of what it would actually involve.  I have no baking background.  I have not gone to school to become a baker so I was starting from scratch.  I am a very fortunate person because I am always able to achieve the things that I set out to do.  I quit my job at the time and was intending on returning to school to be a massage therapist.  I went through the application process and was accepted to the program but when I arrived in Nova Scotia I knew I was not a massage therapist.  I wanted to be a baker.  I think I have always wanted to be a baker but sometimes we lose ourselves so that we eventually find ourselves.  I spent a few months being lazy and then my boyfriend persuaded me to do something, anything so I started this blog.  After I started this blog I applied for my very first baking job, ever.  I didn’t get the job.  Why would I get the job, I had no experience, no papers, absolutely nothing except my will to be a baker and all that I have taught myself through the years.  I didn’t give up, my ego was bruised, but I waited.  I reapplied for the same job again, this time I did a lot of talking.  People have a difficult time saying no to me, when I really want something.  I eventually got the job.  I quickly discovered that I was in WAY over my head.  There was equipment in the place that I now worked that I had absolutely no idea what it was or how it even worked.  It was not the place for me.  I am a home baker.  I like to bake things from scratch.  I eventually quit that job for a much better suited job doing what I do best, baking things from scratch with loads of love 🙂  I am very fortunate to have found a baking position that will allow me to grow and learn as a baker.  I am still at this bakery and although there are good days and bad, I can safely say that I love what I do. I think all to often we allow ourselves to become victims to ourselves.  We fill ourselves with self doubt instead of self confidence.  If you don’t enjoy your job you should find something that is better suited to you.  It will help your relationships, your self image and the way people perceive you as well.  Our life times are so short make the very best of the time you have, do what YOU want to do.

I made these cookies the other day at work.  We are in spring mode.  I am slowly easing my way into Easter which is only a few short weeks away.  I have been practicing my decorating techniques as much as I can with every opportunity that arises.  I am not one to boast or brag but I am proud of these cookies 🙂  I particularly like the pink butterflies, they are my favorite!  For the cookie I used my favorite shortbread.  It is buttery and quite literally melts in your mouth.

Shortbread Cookies
Ingredients

1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4  cup butter, room temperature
1/2 cup icing sugar
1/2 cup cornstarch

To Prepare

In a separate bowl whisk the flour with the icing sugar, and corn starch.  Set aside.
In the bowl of your electric mixer, beat the butter until smooth and creamy (about 1 minute). Add the flour mixture and beat on low until smooth (about 2 minutes).  Remove the dough from the mixing bowl.  Flatten the dough into a disk shape, wrap in plastic wrap, and chill the dough for at least an hour or until firm.
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F with the rack in the middle of the oven.  Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
On a lightly floured surface roll out the dough into a 1/4 inch thick circle.  Cut into rounds or other shapes using a lightly floured cookie cutter.  Place on the prepared baking sheets and place in the refrigerator for about 15 minutes. (This will firm up the dough so the cookies will maintain their shape when baked.) Bake for 8 – 10 minutes, or until cookies are very lightly browned. Cool on a wire rack.

For the decorating I used this Royal Icing.

Makes 24 shortbread cookies

If spring is in full swing where you are, I suggest you make these cookies in celebration of it!  These cookies make wonderful gifts.  Simply place the dry, decorated cookies in a clear cellophane bag and tie with a satin bow and watch your recipients face light up and glow 🙂

From our kitchen to yours,
Sydney Jones

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2012 4:04 pm

    Glad you finally found your place as a baker! Not many people land a job in which they love, but your persistance paid off. Your cookies are probably the most spring like thing I have seen all day. Stunning creations. Have a great weekend and enjoy all the spring baking.

    • March 24, 2012 2:46 pm

      Thanks Tina, sometimes it takes a while but eventually everything falls into place 🙂 Have a great weekend too!

  2. March 23, 2012 5:50 pm

    I love your thoughts on losing yourself so you can find yourself again – I am very much like you, and I think that everyone should embrace the risk of losing something so you have the possibility of gaining something that means so much more to YOU. Good for you!!! And obviously, the cookies look delicious and beautiful 🙂

  3. March 23, 2012 6:19 pm

    These cookies are stunning – I can imagine Spring and all of its beautiful nature I have left behind for Autumn now 😀
    Another beauitufl post!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  4. March 23, 2012 9:56 pm

    Beautiful cookies – thanks for sharing. Have a Great Weekend!

  5. March 24, 2012 6:11 am

    I am glad you found your dream job. But more importantly am happy you decided to write. Love reading your recipes and seeing those beautiful pictures. How did you get those little heart designs on your cookies? Take care, BAM

    • March 24, 2012 2:49 pm

      Thank you Bam! It really means a lot to me that you say that 🙂 The little hearts were added when the royal icing was still wet. I used a toothpick and placed a little white dot on each wing and then dragged a different tooth pick through it to create the heart. Easy 🙂

  6. March 24, 2012 6:19 am

    I want to do my baking school work placement at your bakery next year!! HOW MUCH AWESOME WOULD THAT BE?

    • March 24, 2012 2:50 pm

      That would be insanely incredible 🙂 You could teach me so many things!!! I would love that!! You must be getting so excited 🙂

  7. March 25, 2012 3:14 pm

    Hi Sydney – these look beautiful – like something I’d pin on my wall… I’d almost feel bad eating this… almost 😀

Leave a Reply

