Skip to content

Strawberry Balsamic and Black Pepper Jam

March 28, 2012

Canning preserves is an art.  It is a skill that most women will develop while watching their mothers in the kitchen.  That’s how I learned.  I love harvest season because it means that all the women get to spend time in the kitchen preserving all the wonderful fruits that the earth allowed them to grow.  I think what appeals to me most about preserves is that there is no end to it.  You can preserve ANYTHING!  My favorite thing to make so far is jam.  The entire process is so easy but I love the results because you don’t get them straight away, you have to wait.  Just like you do for test results 🙂  All the excitement lies in the wait.

Strawberry Balsamic and Black Pepper Jam is amazing!!  No question in my mind.  It is more of a spread than jam but I have become quite fond this slightly tart preserve.  The tang of the balsamic vinegar really enhances the sweetness of the strawberries and the black pepper adds a slight warmth to every bite.  This is a new favorite for me.  I believe that any variation of jam would work well with balsamic vinegar added to it making for a lovely change to an old favorite.

Strawberry Balsamic and Black Pepper Jam
Ingredients

2 cups fresh or frozen strawberries, diced
3-4 tablespoons granulated sugar (adjust according to sweetness of the berries)
2+ tablespoons balsamic vinegar (to taste)
1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

To Prepare

In a saucepan over medium heat, bring strawberries, sugar, black pepper and balsamic vinegar to a boil. Turn down the heat and simmer for 25-30 minutes, stirring occasionally, until strawberries have thickened into a jam.
To store, keep chilled in the refrigerator.

Makes 1 ~ 500 ml jar of jam
Source The Pastry Affair
&
Canadian Living

This jam lends itself as a spread on crackers, bread, dribbled on ice cream, or used in other various pastries.  This jam is a definite must do, if you love the tang of balsamic vinegar and the sweetness of strawberries, I think you’ll enjoy this jam a lot 🙂

From our kitchen to yours,
Sydney Jones

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    March 28, 2012 2:54 pm

    I love this recipe, and I’m so glad you shared. This is the first year I’ll be trying my hand at canning and preserving. This will be my first project. Thank you for posting! Your pictures are so pretty!

    • March 28, 2012 3:03 pm

      Thank you Sarah! I love this recipe too, it’s so simple 🙂 I particularly enjoy that it does not contain a lot of sugar. I hope that you enjoy canning and preserving, there is something very wholesome about it. If you are able to hand pick your berries or fruit that you will be preserving, it really adds to the entire experience 🙂 Most importantly have fun!!

      • Sarah permalink
        March 28, 2012 6:51 pm

        Thank you Sydney! Now that you say that, we DO have a pick your own berry farm a few miles away. Hope they open early this year because of the extraordinary warm weather. I can’t wait to try this….

  2. March 28, 2012 4:13 pm

    This really sounds like a great recipe to try. Do you know how long it will stay in the ‘fridge before it “goes bad”…not that it would ever happen around here:)

    Susan

    • March 28, 2012 7:02 pm

      There isn’t much in the way of preserve (sugar/pectin) so I would have to guess about 1-2 weeks tops, it could be more or less. Of course, if you use a sterile lid and then boil in a “canner” for 10 minutes, it will then keep in a cool dark place for up to six months.

  3. March 28, 2012 8:56 pm

    This sounds delightful!

  4. March 29, 2012 12:46 am

    This sounds so interesting with the balsamic vinegar and pepper a definite unique experience from the usual over sweet strawberry refrigerator jelly I grew up to know. Take care, BAM

  5. March 29, 2012 1:09 pm

    That sounds like a glorious jam! Beautiful!

  6. June 27, 2012 6:51 pm

    I found your recipe through Sarah’s place and wanted to thank you for sending me down this path. I canned enough to keep my tasters happy and still have a couple jars for myself. Thanks, it’s a great recipe and I never would have thought to do it if Sarah hadn’t cited your recipe.

    • June 27, 2012 9:09 pm

      Thanks so much for trying it! It really brings a smile to my face 🙂 I love strawberry season and canning, I am so happy you tried it!

  7. June 28, 2012 6:56 am

    I had to stop by your lovely blog after reading about your strawberry jam and I’m so glad I did. I like the recipe as it makes a small quantity of not so sweet jam with lots of flavor.

    • June 28, 2012 5:34 pm

      Thanks for dropping by Karen 🙂 I’m ever so grateful for those who have tried and shared this jam. It really is yummy 🙂 You should try it, it is super easy!

      • June 28, 2012 5:48 pm

        I’m planning to but have to wait until we get sweet strawberries. We should have them here in Maine in another week or two.

Trackbacks

  1. Strawberry Cream Cheese Turnovers « Sydney'sKitchen
  2. Honey Oat Strawberry Bars « Sydney'sKitchen
  3. A Knitty, Fruity, Relaxing Day
  4. A Blogger’s Relaxing Day Leads To A Jam-Filled One For Me | from the Bartolini kitchens

Leave a Reply

