Skip to content

Watermelon Slushies

May 10, 2012

I have some exciting news to share with you all!  It’s exciting for me but I am warning you it may not be so exciting for you.  Ready?  I am going on a big adventure to Costa Rica!  I will be flying out early tomorrow morning.  I have not made any definite plans aside from two nights in Liberia.  I am excited for a change of scenery!  I am also I am also looking forward to some really warm weather along with an abundance of wildlife.  I will be taking my camera with me so I can share with you some of my discoveries but I do not intend on writing any food related posts until the first week of June.  I may go back on my word here if I am able to find suitable internet connections but as of this moment this will be my last post until June. I know, you are all so terribly sadden by this news but I promise there will be a lot of things to look forward to this summer here on Sydney’s Kitchen 🙂

That was another rather exciting tid bit of information that I wanted to share with you all.  When I return in June I will be returning to a new job 🙂  I will be working at a dog spa!! I am completely overjoyed.  I am excited to learn all sorts of new things when I start working there.  I am really excited about the things that are happening and the things that are going to unfold throughout the rest of the year!

In celebration of all the things to come I thought it would be a great idea to share with you one of my favorite summer drinks.  Watermelon slushies are a fabulous summer drink that are super easy to make!  I love making blender drinks in the summer, they are so refreshing and require very little preparation.  They are the perfect way to quench your thirst when the hot sun is beating down on you.  The beauty of blender drinks is that they are healthy and you can add or omit any ingredients you like.  If you like thicker more substantial slushies you can add a banana which will thicken and sweeten you slushie naturally.  I added pure unsweetened cranberry juice to mine because I love the tartness of the cranberries as well as the health benefits that they offer!  If you are looking for a great cranberry juice or dried cranberries, I suggest you try Terra Beata Cranberry Farm they are absolutely amazing 🙂

Watermelon Slushies
Ingredients

3 cups seedless watermelon cubes
3/4 cup frozen raspberries
1/2 cup pure cranberry juice
1/3 cup lemon sorbet
2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
1 cup crushed or cubed ice

To Prepare

In a blender combine watermelon, raspberries, cranberry juice, sorbet, lime juice and ice;  blend until smooth.  Pour into chilled glasses, garnish with a wedge of watermelon and some fresh mint leaves.  Serve immediately.

Makes 4 servings

If you are looking for refreshing summer drinks that quench your thirst and cool you off you need to add these slushies to your recipe box.  I am really going to miss writing for you all in the next couple of weeks.  I am really looking forward to returning and sharing with you my Costa Rican adventure 🙂

From our kitchen to yours,
Sydney Jones

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2012 5:51 pm

    this drink looks heavenly! so hot here in cali I need this drink! lol . Have a good time on your tripadventure!

  2. eliotthecat permalink
    May 10, 2012 10:09 pm

    We have friends who have been to Costa Rica and love it. Every time we see them, we “plan” a trip. (In our imaginations only, unfortunately.) I hope you have internet connections so we can keep up with you. (Also good luck at your new job!)

    I sent a track back to your warm chicken salad and will post it tomorrow morning. We love that dressing.

    Have a great time. Safe travels!

  3. May 10, 2012 10:32 pm

    This looks great and I cannot wait to try it once our weather warms a bit. Have a great holiday! Safe travels.

  4. May 11, 2012 3:22 am

    Fantastic looking drink – I’m going to remember this for when it’s scorching hot (it suddenly shot up to 29 degrees yesterday!!)

    Bon Voyage – have a wonderful trip!

  5. May 12, 2012 6:07 am

    1. 2.0 and I were just talking about slushies yesterday – and how much we love them. We’re going to have to try these!
    2. I think your new job sounds AWESOME. Also, I’m betting you’ll have some good stories to tell us…
    3. Have a marvellous trip – I hope this adventure fills your eyes, ears, nose, mouth and soul with all sorts of awesome!

    xox

  6. May 13, 2012 5:57 am

    Engage the blender! This one is bookmarked!

  7. May 15, 2012 5:42 pm

    Yummie! I’m currently reading this while sipping a hot whiskey which hints at what sort of weather I’m experiencing in Ireland atm. Have an amazing time in Costa Rica – I’ve a friend there and he says the place is fantastic! And congrats on the new job – LOVE dogs so I can only imagine how wonderful it would be to work with them

Leave a Reply

