Skip to content

Banana Espresso Muffins with Cacao Nibs

June 10, 2012

One of the most wonderful things about being home is being in the kitchen.  Ever since I was a wee girl the kitchen has been my favorite spot.  It doesn’t matter if I am cleaning, doing dishes, chopping, cooking or baking as long as it’s in the kitchen I am in a good sound state of affairs!

When I first returned home last week I was a little reluctant to get back into the kitchen and start scooping flour and measuring out other ingredients.  I have been on a cleanse for the last week and that is why the reluctance was so overwhelming.  It is difficult for me to refrain from sweets and other goodies when I am doing my spring cleaning so to speak.  But I am a woman of my word and when I say I will be back writing posts the first week of June then by golly I am back writing posts the first week of June cleanse or no cleanse!  Fortunately, I do have a couple of side kicks that are not doing any spring cleaning or cleansing for that matter that were and are more than happy to consume everything that I bake and concoct for you all 🙂

These Banana Espresso Muffins with Cacao Nibs underwent some vigorous testing here in our kitchen and I have to tell you they are incredible!  Moist and tender these muffins are the perfect companion for your breakfast or brunch!  They even come loaded with their own espresso back up just in case you didn’t get enough coffee to start your day off!  The great thing about these muffins or any muffin for that matter is that they are a cinch to make.  You simply add the dry ingredients in one bowl and the wet in another and then combine, easy peasy!  Banana muffins are really just a variation of banana bread so if you are a fan of banana bread you’ll most certainly love these muffins.  These muffins are the perfect accompaniment to any breakfast table or brunch for that matter!  I added  cacao nibs because I am addicted to them and I also really enjoy the crunch they add to baked goods.  Cacao nibs are a great alternative to nuts when you are looking for extra crunch without the extra calories 🙂

Banana Espresso Muffins with Cacao Nibs
Ingredients

2 cups flour
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 cup cacao nibs
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
3/4 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup strong espresso, chilled or cool
3/4 cup olive oil
1 egg
2 teaspoons vanilla
1/2 cup dark brown sugar
2 ripe bananas, mashed

 To Prepare

Preheat oven to 350. Line 12 muffin tins with paper liners.

Combine flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, cacao nibs and cinnamon in a large bowl. Whisk together, and make a well in the center. Combine buttermilk, coffee, oil, vanilla, sugar, mashed bananas and eggs. Whisk wet ingredients together and pour over the dry ingredients. Mix wet ingredients together until almost combined.  Continue to stir until the batter is evenly moistened, being careful not to over mix.

Scoop batter into prepared pans, filling the muffin cup to the top. Sprinkle with sugar, if you like. Bake until muffin edges are golden brown and a toothpick inserted comes out with the tiniest bit of crumb, 16-20 minutes.

Makes 12 Muffins
Source Adaptation The Vanilla Bean Blog 

If you are looking for some fresh morning fare these muffins will completely fill the bill!  You will not go back to your plain ‘ol banana muffins are these, or maybe you will, either way enjoy 🙂

From our kitchen to yours,
Sydney Jones

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2012 3:40 pm

    Wow. These look amazing! I still haven’t baked with cacao nibs yet, but seeing these delicious recipes you have, I probably should soon!

  2. June 10, 2012 9:37 pm

    You take such care with each recipe Sydney. I’m always impressed by every post. I’m actually getting ready to try one of your macaron recipes and now this one because I have all the ingredients on hand and it sounds like a delightful combo!

  3. June 11, 2012 6:37 pm

    These look delicious! Love the tip about cocoa nibs btw – cheers

  4. June 22, 2012 10:42 am

    Sydney, funny you should “mention” it…I was just thinking this morning, what muffins shall I make for the weekend. You’ve settled my dilemma. It’ll be these! 🙂 (Love that there’s olive oil, buttermilk, espresso and cacao nibs in these! Quite a brilliant list of ingredients!)

  5. June 22, 2012 1:51 pm

    These look super tasty. And like you mentioned, perfect for the mornings! Do they freeze well? I’m in the habit of baking a batch of muffins, individually wrapping and freezing them for the week, as it’s difficult for the two humans in my household to eat their way through a 12 to 24 muffins before they go bad.

Leave a Reply

