Skip to content

Honey & Oat Stone Ground Wheat Bread

June 28, 2012

I have been neglecting you.  I have been going through an after vacation withdrawal.  Do you ever have those?  I apologize. Its not you, it’s me.

This Honey & Oat Stone Ground Wheat Bread is probably one of the best bread recipes I have tried in a while!  One of the things that I have discovered while I was on my extended hiatus was that I am an emotional baker.  You know how you can be an emotional eater, well same thing except I bake when my emotions begin to flare.  It is a therapy for me a type of meditation that calms and soothes my mind.  This bread was the result of some emotional baking I did the other day 🙂 I seem to do my best work when I am driven by emotion 😉  This bread is absolute heaven!  It has a tender crumb and is so light you’ll hardly believe that you are eating anything at all.  It is slightly dulcet and will not disappoint even the most seasoned bread eater!  I highly suggest this bread for breakfasts and sandwiches as it is absolutely divine.

Honey & Oat Stone Ground Wheat Bread
Ingredients

3 cups warm water (110 degrees F)
2 packages active dry yeast (4 1/2 teaspoons)
1/2 teaspoon sugar
1/3 cup honey
4 cups bread flour
1 cup rolled oats
3 tablespoons butter, melted
1/3 cup honey
1/2 tablespoon salt
3 1/2 cups stone ground whole wheat bread flour
2 tablespoons butter, melted

To Prepare

In the bowl of your electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, mix the warm water, yeast, sugar and 1/3 cup honey. Add 4 cups white bread flour and oats; stir to combine. Allow to sit for 30 minutes, or until big and bubbly.
Remove the paddle attachment and replace it with the dough hook.  Mix in 3 tablespoons melted butter, the additional 1/3 cup honey, and salt. Stir in 2 cups stone ground whole wheat flour. With the mixer on stir add the additional flour 1/2 cup at a time and allow the dough to knead for about 6-10 minutes or until the dough pulls away from the sides of the bowl and the bowl looks “clean” the dough should be one complete mass.  Alternately, flour a flat surface and knead with whole wheat flour until not real sticky – just pulling away from the counter, but still sticky to touch. This may take an additional 2 to 4 cups of stone ground whole wheat bread flour. Place in a greased bowl, turning once to coat the surface of the dough. Cover with plastic wrap and a dishtowel. Allow to rise in a warm place free from drafts until doubled in size.
Punch down, and divide into 3 loaves. Place in greased 9 x 5 inch loaf pans, and allow to rise until dough has topped the pans by one inch. As an option you can brush the tops of the loaves with honey and then sprinkle with oats.  Bake at 350 degrees F for 25 to 30 minutes; do not overbake. To test the loaves you may insert a thermometer in the corner of the loaf on an angle and when it reads 210-215 F it is done!  Lightly brush the tops of loaves with 2 tablespoons melted butter when done to prevent crust from getting hard. Cool on a wire rack completely.

Makes 3~9×5 inch loaves
Source Adaptation  Allrecipes

If you have any upcoming picnics planned this bread would make the most scrumptious sandwiches for your affair!

From our kitchen to yours,
Sydney Jones

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2012 10:18 pm

    Such a pretty loaf.. beautiful photos as well.. and I, too, suffer the “after vacation withdrawal” afflication..

    • June 29, 2012 8:20 am

      The bread is quickly becoming a favorite of ours!
      The vacation withdrawl can be tough to work through sometimes. But each day presents a new opportunity to have a positive outlook and to try and get that vacation feeling at home 🙂

  2. June 29, 2012 6:51 am

    Oh, honey and oats, how I love thee! This loaf looks delectable!

    I’m glad you’re back – vacation withdrawal and all…

    • June 29, 2012 8:23 am

      Me Too!! Thank you, it was delicious! Your comments always make me feel so much better 🙂

  3. June 29, 2012 1:44 pm

    looks delicious! x

  4. June 30, 2012 5:47 pm

    Such a beautiful loaf – love the golden, smooth top. The inside looks lovely and soft too… hope you’re vacation withdrawal is over… I spend my life wanting vacation, and then I take one and then it ends so fast 😦

  5. July 1, 2012 3:13 pm

    Love the simplicity of the loaf and I hope you had wonderful vacation!

Leave a Reply

