Skip to content

Honied Blueberry Breakfast Quinoa

July 19, 2012

What does your breakfast look like?  My breakfast looks like that picture up above.  I have been eating a lot of quinoa lately because I have changed the way I start my mornings.  A month ago I stopped drinking coffee.  I was rather surprised that I was able to stop drinking it so easily this time because the last time I attempted to rid myself of it I suffered.  I had terrible withdrawal symptoms severe headaches and body aches and pains.  It was really uncomfortable so like most times when things get uncomfortable I simply continue on doing what I am doing because it is easier.  I was quite fortunate to have a relatively easy time eliminating it from my diet and morning routine this time around.  I did experience a slight headache on the first morning but then I remembered that I had read somewhere where that headaches in the morning are sometimes caused by a lack of hydration and protein.  Luckily I had quinoa in the cupboard. I prepared my breakfast waiting patiently as I sipped on some water.  After eating the quinoa and hydrating myself my headache was gone and I was over my first morning sans caffeine!  Incredible 🙂  I have to tell you that since eliminating the caffeine from my diet I feel great.  It is nice to wake up in the morning and not have to depend on a cup of liquid to decide what sort of day it is going to be.  Now I decide, it is always a beautiful day with limitless possibilities that lie ahead!

This Honied Blueberry Breakfast Quinoa is so nourishing.  I have yet to find a breakfast that leaves me feeling so well balanced and satisfied.  We all know how important the first meal of the day is but do we all know that it is equally important to incorporate protein into each of our meals?  It is very important.  Our bodies require protein for the majority of our metabolic functions and if we can add protein to our breakfasts we are setting ourselves up for a very well balanced day that will allow you to keep a steady pace throughout the day.  Quinoa is a very versatile grain and a complete protein.  Quinoa is also a good source of dietary fibre, phosphorus and is high in magnesium as well as iron. It may also be used as a source of calcium, and therefore is useful for vegans and those who are lactose intolerant.  Quinoa is gluten-free and easy to digest. If you have not yet introduced yourself to quinoa you really should get on it!  It is amazing and so very nourishing.

Honied Blueberry Breakfast Quinoa
Ingredients

1/2 cup quinoa, rinsed
1/2 cup unsweetened almond or hemp milk (regular milk also works)
1/2 cup water
2 teaspoons honey
Handful chopped or sliced hazelnuts
Handful of fresh blueberries

To Prepare

In a large saucepan, stir together the quinoa, milk, and water. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, cover and turn heat down to low. Simmer for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally, until quinoa softens and absorbs all of the liquid.

Transfer to a bowl sprinkle a handful of blueberries squeeze some honey on the blueberries and top with sliced hazelnuts. Serve hot.

Makes 1-2 servings depending on your hunger

Sources The Pastry Affair
&
Wikipedia

If you are looking for a well balanced breakfast that leaves you satisfied look no further this will do the trick!

From our kitchen to yours,
Sydney Jones

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2012 9:10 pm

    This looks great! You’ve got some beautiful pictures. 🙂

    I loooove coffee, which means I should probably think about cutting back. I could just imagine the headaches I would have. Not good.

  2. July 19, 2012 10:48 pm

    Wow, I commend you for quitting coffee. I can’t get myself to do it just yet but it is true how the right foods give you the energy needed. This recipe sounds great, it’s definitely going on my list of things to make.

  3. July 20, 2012 2:38 am

    Mmm, this sounds good. We also like Quinoa as a savoury – with olives and shredded sundried tomatoes added. Never thought of it for breakfast so I will experiment!

  4. July 20, 2012 3:55 pm

    Your breakfast is beautiful. Really looks delicious!

  5. July 21, 2012 8:22 pm

    While I don’t think I’ll be quitting my coffee habit any time soon I’m always willing to try new breakfasts and this looks fantastic – I bet my wife would love this too. I’ve never thought of trying quinoa for breakfast before – great idea!

  6. August 17, 2012 12:04 pm

    Please consider sharing some of these amazing recipes on the Recipes.ca website – you can link every recipe back to your own site! These are absolutely delicious and everyone should try them 🙂 It only takes a minute to sign up.

Trackbacks

  1. Making breakfast better… « kitchen notes and other sundries

Leave a Reply

